Plus ça change...

By SooB

Relaxed bunny

Early market trip (clearly earlier than folk I know, as I escaped without the usual round of mwah mwahing) then home to wait in for the late, but entirely lovely, possible new mason. He charmed me by speaking English with an accent I later identified as Canadian, and also by seeming to know what he was talking about (mainly in French as he had forgotten all the relevant nouns in English). Obviously, he can’t start work until January, but I’m getting used to that kind of delay...

Later, off to the vet with TallGirl. Her German pal’s host family is the vets TallGirl did work experience with a few years ago, and also the folk who have very intimate knowledge of our rabbits. TallGirl was over there for what I want to call a play date, but they’re 17 so I don’t think that can be right.

Then, basketball for CarbBoy and a very welcome victory, with several baskets, an elbow in the back and a kick on the knee for the man himself. He eschewed ice/peas and says he is fine.

I pronounced myself unmotivated dinner-wise, so TallGirl made dinner while I did prep for tomorrow’s chicken extravaganza.

A surprisingly fun inter-generational movie followed, then I had to explain my bedtime Bagpuss reference by resorting to YouTube. This led to a series of reminiscences brought to our living room by the magic of YouTube (Mr Benn, Ivor the Engine) after which the kids went to bed secure in the knowledge that everyone in the 70s was on something, and it’s a miracle I’m as normal as I am.

Result.

(I see yesterday I forgot to mention the very long political/social/legal discussion with TallGirl (“some laws are really stupid”). Am beginning to wonder if science is really her thing. If I can eliminate the authoritarian impulse, she has the makings of a fine lawyer....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.