100 Years On - We Remember Them

I went to St John's Church in Keswick this morning. The Remembrance service was there and after the service the parade would march to the Cenotaph for 11 o'clock. I wanted to use a photo of the outside of the church which was dressed up beautifully with these lovely knitted poppies. The Cenotaph in contrast seemed to have no special adornment except for the named poppies in a low level bed. I hoped there might be a photo opportunity at the church after the service but the people taking part in the parade came out of the side gate into Church Lane to march from there. It seems a shame that there was no particular use made of this super installation which must have taken so much work by the supporters of the church. 

Fortunately for me, just before the service a group of veterans lined up beside the church and observed two minutes silence so I quickly took my picture before standing silently with them.

The day started off with a bit of drizzle but the rain gradually increased and by 10.30 it was quite heavy. I walked down to the landing jetties and round to Crow Park. You'll see in my extras of the gate that the water is much higher than it's usual level. I didn't want to do much driving today as I have the long journey home tomorrow and quite frankly the weather forecast didn't do anything to tempt me out. It feels like I haven't made the most of my last day but I'll look forward to the next time I come up.

I'm quite sorry to be missing the remembrance parade at home in Bishopsteignton. I believe there's a super installation of knitted poppies at the War memorial there. Although I've missed the service I can blip the poppies when I get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.