Goodbye to The Lakes

I got packed up and ready to leave fairly early and got on the road at 9.15. Before I left I went down to the slipway on the campsite for a final photo of Derwentwater. You can see the markings on the concrete that indicate the height of the water. I'm not sure how the measurements work but I've been very impressed with the team at the campsite and the way they calmly got people organised who needed to move. I remarked on this to one of the staff as I was leaving. She said that they're fairly well practiced, this is the eighth time it's been necessary this year!

The sun came out as I got further south and the reflections off the road was a bit uncomfortable, my specs darken but they're not polarised unfortunately. RA bit north of Bristol I went under a motorway bridge and as I came out the other side it was as if the sky had fallen on me. The rain just crashed down, it was slow down and full speed wipers on for a while. The rain was on and off from there until I reached home which was about 4.30. Not a bad journey all in all even with the interminable road works on the M6.

It's nice to be home but it's a bit empty. Marian's up in Edinburgh until Thursday. I've got the village Photo Club tonight and there's a new jam session in one of the pubs so I'll probably call in there on the way home too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.