100 years of Remembering

I watched the Remembrance Day service at the cenotaph on tv this morning - observing the 2 minutes silence. Sadly it was as close as I could get to the real thing, but I still think it is important to put aside that time to reflect.

Then back to the now for a short while. I made a lasagne, hoovered the lounge and made a few cards. Jon and Henry were at archery. After coffee, later than normal, I went for a quick walk around the village with Jon, then lunch before dressing smartly for the Cromer Remembrance Day service. Jon with his Explorers took part in the parade through the high street, to the Cromer Parish church. This building is one of the most impressive Norfolk Churches I have seen. The flint, the windows, the size of the building and it’s location. All make it something more than just another church. So I am glad I was able to do my remembering here this afternoon. I certainly did find myself thinking about William Archibald Peck and Donald John Ketteringham, my great uncles who both died in WW1. Next year, I hope I will be able to visit the war graves in Ypres with Jon. I’d especially like to visit Donald John Ketteringham’s grave - born in Norwich, and buried on the Somme. Something else I’d like to do is research and document (just for myself) what being Archie or John in WW1 would really have been like. Where they went in their regiments, what they saw and what their peers were experiencing. I expect the others in my family have already done it, but I’d like to do it myself anyway. And I’d also like to see if there are any on Jon’s side. I expect there are, and in future I want them all to be remembered.

That’s it. Now a lasagne to cook, and feeling the chill, so a fire to light I think!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.