The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Costa Coffee

I'm not sure about these large corporate Costa Coffee logos that appeared this summer on both ends of the covered section of Phelps Parade in Calne, when Costa Coffee opened, as the coffee chain only occupies two former store units on one side of the walkway. Apparently, they converted the stores and erected the logos before applying for planning permission and certainly don't own the other stores. One was a café/bakery which closed down a few days after the competition opened its doors, though I noticed today that an almost identical establishment opened this week in its place.

This was taken shortly before sunset with the Tough TG-1, again using the 'Dramatic' effect. I set the focus directly on the logo but I'm discovering that focus is not its strong point in low light, unless close-up. I expected a lack of detail, which I hoped the effect filter would enhance. The lights in the distance are an awful warning of an event said to be taking place next month.

L.
28.11.2012

Blip #858
Consecutive Blip #071
Day #979

Calne series
Olympus Tough TG-1 series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Shadows - The Savage (1961)
The postman today brought me a 2CD package called The Shadows 1958-1961, all their best stuff, though it seems tame now compared to lesser known bands of the time that were then unknown to me, thanks to the radio limitations of the time. The Frightened City was the first single I ever bought, though it was a present for my best friend's eleventh birthday; we didn't have a record player in our house at that time. The Savage, their 7th single, is from the film The Young Ones. It was recorded 23-25 May 1961 at Abbey Road and has some classy drumming from Tony Meehan.


One year ago: Zoo Trip #18: Marwell Wildlife

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.