Reach

I am astounded and humbled by the reaction to my blip yesterday. I didn't expect that at all. I don't seek popularity but it's got to fourth second on the popular page which says something about the thoughtfulness and engagement of my fellow blippers.

I know that if I'd posted that text elsewhere on the internet I would have had a lot of flak and probably some pretty unpleasant abuse so I want to thank especially those who have read what I wrote and disagree with me - and I know there are plenty of you - for your dignified silence or your respectful questioning. This calm and mature way of managing our differences is how we all make the world a better place and I'm proud to be part of this unusual community.


This tree is a Japanese flowering cherry. Its blossom in spring is traditionally a reminder that life is almost overwhelmingly beautiful but that it is also tragically short. Its flamboyant dying at the end of autumn says much the same to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.