ALL’S WELL THAT ENDS WELL!

Whilst we were in North Wales, we decided it would be good to visit “the seaside” so we set off this morning in glorious sunshine to drive to Rhyll. I have to say, and without maligning it too much, that we were seriously underwhelmed.

We visited Kinmel Bay but couldn’t find a way down on to the beach, so we stayed just long enough for me to take a couple of photographs, one of the sea and one of Mr. HCB in front of a signpost for the National Cycle Network - especially for my Blip friend, Yeeeeed. The whole area was very rundown and I won’t even tell you what we thought of the hot chocolate we had in the only café we visited that was open!

We decided to make our way back to Afonwen, which is quite near to where we are staying and where we knew there was a lovely place we could have our lunch. The top right shot shows the beautiful autumn colours with the Welsh hills in the background when we were on our way. When we told our waitress that we hadn’t been that keen on Rhyll, she said we should have gone to Prestatyn - perhaps we will go there another day.

As we were driving, Mr. HCB pointed out that in a field just nearby were five buzzards so he stopped on a side road and as I had my long zoom Canon camera with me, I took several shots - the funniest of which was one of the buzzards running towards me - middle left of the collage.

We had a great lunch at Afonwen and then came back to The Boathouse where I wandered around on my own and took many shots of the lake and the surrounding trees. I made myself use my new Canon and I must admit I was quite pleased with the results.

I also saw these two beautiful shoveler ducks, on the right of the collage and used my other Canon with the long zoom to capture these. There is so much wildlife here that we could just spend our time around the lake, and with hindsight, perhaps we should have done that today!

Having had a good meal at lunchtime, I don’t need to cook this evening, so now the fire has been lit, it might just have to be a glass of red wine and more chocolate - it’s a hard life, but we are on holiday!

Today I am grateful for:

1. The warm Autumn sunshine
2. Seeing five buzzards and numerous water fowl
3. A good lunch of Welsh lamb followed by sticky date and walnut pudding with salted caramel ice cream - yummy!

P.S. Thank you for your kind comments on yesterday’s Blip - which are much appreciated - thankfully it was much warmer today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.