Pram blankets

These are two family pram blankets - mine from 1950s and my sister's from 1960s. Different blankets but the same pram which did the rounds of us and cousins. The rugs are both from the Otterburn Mill in Northumberland. I'm not sure why we both had blankets from there but we did and they were appropriately always referred to as the Otterburn Rugs. I've had them since 1980s. I think they might well have been a bit softer when they were new but they've been washed which probably hasn't helped. I'm wrapping them in acid-free tissue paper, along with a few other blankets and suchlike, until they're needed again. Or if. There are much more practical fabrics these days. But these are so pretty and cosy.

The weather is horrible this morning so the three year old and I have been baking (a qualified success) while Cameraman has turned out the kitchen cupboard we call the pantry. What a guddle. Looks a whole lot better now. I hope the weather is going to cheer up a bit this afternoon so that we can get out. Then it's yoga tonight instead of tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.