Cosmos

I didn't plant cosmos this year - neither seeds nor plug plants. I'm not sure why as it's one of my favourite annuals. This is the sole cosmos in the garden, a self seeder in a container which sits in the front garden. It's completely out of place but once I noticed it had taken root I just left it alone to see what it might do. It's now a big sturdy plant, a bit bashed by the wind and scorched by the frost. But this week its first (and probably only) flower opened. I thought I must record its tenacity. There are other buds as you can see here but it's the middle of November and although it has been very mild since the early frosts last month I think it's going to get colder and windier so the cosmos will probably succumb.

Going to a fundraising evening later at a friend's house. It's going to be fun. At the moment I'm waiting for the postie to deliver some work reading for me and following the news with appalled fascination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.