An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Dad & Daughter...

What a full day!

David took our car to the dealer to have the winter tyres put on.  Whilst he waited for that to happen they plied him with coffee and bacon rolls.  Alright for some!  I stayed home to wait for the Tesco delivery and the man from Kwik Fit who was coming to put the winter tyres on Alan's car.

Kwik Fit man arrived at 10.30am and as Sod's Law dictates, the Tesco delivery arrived just minutes before the Kwik Fit man wanted to leave but couldn't as he was blocked in by the Tesco van!

Eventually they were both on their merry way and I began my favourite task of putting the shopping away (actually this is usually David's job so I shouldn't moan.)

The Tesco delivery driver told me he'd heard a rumour that one of the supermarket chains (he mentioned Sainsbury's) are talking about piloting a service where the delivery man will also put the shopping away.  He thought it was a hilarious and unworkable arrangement and said, "I get into trouble for putting shopping in the wrong place in my own house so what's the chances of me getting it right in your house?"  I concurred.

R came to take Lola for her walk and she was so happy to see him she almost knocked him over!  He will pick her up at lunch time tomorrow and she will stay with him till Sunday lunch time.  She will have a ball and so will R's son who has a real affinity with Lola.  I'll miss her though.

David arrived back from the garage and we had a quick lunch.  Andrew and Nikki and Esme timed their arrival perfectly and came in just as we were making coffee.

Esme was asleep but soon woke up.  She is so alert now and has full control of her head.  So much progress in such a short time.  She has also developed the most stunning smile.  She literally beams! (see extra)  

Nikki had asked if I could take some photos of Esme with a Christmas theme so after some milk (for Esme) and cuddles for me (from Esme) Nikki got her into the little Christmas hat and nappy cover and I managed to get a few shots of her on Alan's (now hers) shawl.  

Daylight had completely gone by this point, which was not ideal (actually there was no decent light here at all today.  The lights were on the full day even in the garden room) but the photos have turned out better than I thought they would.  Nikki and Andrew are happy with them so that's the main thing.

Nikki also wanted me to take some shots of her wearing a little sleep suit with her name on it, and get some photos of her with her dad.  She had nodded off by this point but did manage to get one or two of her and Andrew but we will revisit this again in the next couple of weeks in natural light.

Looking at Andrew with Esme my heart could just burst.  Andrew is like a second son to me and it really does feel like two minutes since he was this size.   I am so proud of him and the amazing dad he is.  Completely hands on and so proud of his little girl.  It's so lovely to see.

Esme got upset later in the evening and I snuggled her in close and tickled her cheek and she settled down, looking up at me as she smiled and her eyes grew heavy.  She fell into a sound sleep and I sat with her for half an hour literally just staring at her and sniffing her neck!  I am completely smitten with this little bundle.

They stayed for tea and left just after 9pm.  Nikki and I have made arrangements to go out for lunch very soon so it won't be long till I get more cuddles from Esme and my camera will be snapping away.  I am counting the days!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.