An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Through the square window...

David was up and off just after 9am to his annual lads weekend in the Lake District.  The plan was he would pick Keith up and they would have a round of golf on their journey down, before meeting up with the rest of the gang in Coniston in the afternoon.  Unfortunately due to the very frosty start their plan to stop and play golf at Lanark was thwarted and the last I heard they were heading to play at Moffat.  When he texted me this evening he said they'd had a lovely round of golf but I forgot to ask where they'd ended up playing.  Never fear, I will no doubt be given a hole by hole blow by blow account when he returns.  Yay!  Not really.


After thinking I had a quiet day to myself today, I checked the calendar on my phone to discover I was having lunch with friends Janice and Fiona!  We meet monthly and put a date in the diary for the next month and I had completely forgotten!  Texted them both to check we were still on and they both confirmed, so that was a lovely surprise for me!  

Gave myself a telling off though because I'd messaged Keith's wife Mairi the other day to see if she wanted to come for lunch today  (left till the last minute to see if my sore back improved.  Thankfully it did :-) Mairi couldn't make it though.  Just as well given I already had a lunch date in the diary.  That could have proved embarrassing!  

Janice picked me up just after 1pm and we had our usual lovely lunch and catch up with Fiona at Gloagburn.  Once we're there that's us settled for the afternoon so I knew it would be dark by the time we left, so today's blip is another phone shot through a window looking towards the same hills, just from further north east :-))

Home to an empty house.  Alan and Jordan were off out somewhere.  So strange to come in and not be greeted by Lola's soft brown eyes, smiley face and wagging tail.  I really miss her more than David but don't tell him I said that!  

After my lovely lunch, no need to cook a complicated dinner which suited me fine.  A slice of quiche and salad was perfect.

Feet up, telly on, book by my side and a lovely evening of channel surfing ahead, or whatever took my fancy.  What did I do?  Dozed off!  Woke up when I heard Alan coming in a short while ago!  Arrrgh!  What a waste of an evening.  Didn't even pour a G&T!  

Oh well, the good news is Adrian's dad is a bit better.  He's awake and recognises family members and saying a few words.  The difficulty is trying to keep him stable with his blood thin enough that he's not at risk of life endangering blood clots, but not so think that he's in danger of further bleeds in the brain.  A very delicate balance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.