Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Beech leaves

I cannot get enough of the autumn colours at the moment, they are so glorious and golden. It was a very dull day but when I went out this afternoon the sun finally came out and there were some unmissable scenes of the light on some trees, which of course I missed as I did not have my camera with me.

I am being very successful with my Christmas shopping from my desk chair...I was hoping to avoid going to the shops entirely and do all my shopping online, but I am going to the shops tomorrow. I have an annual lunch with some friends in London tomorrow, and after lunch I am meeting Gavin as I want to get his present and it is best if he tries it on. I then plan to take some photos of the Regent Street Christmas lights which are being switched on tonight by Jodie Whittaker (Dr Who), so I hope I have time to go there after shopping.

I keep checking the news to see if there is anything amongst the Brexit deal negotiations that will bring a smile to my face - so far just the usual fall out of resigning cabinet ministers and no good news. Will there ever be good news, or just bad news after more bad news? Who knows how it will affect us when whatever deal is finally done. All I know so far is that universities have lost much of their funding which comes from the EU, and for someone like Adam who is currently applying for a PhD research project and grant there is now limited funding available for scientists, which is unacceptable - and yet the world needs more scientists....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.