Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas Lights

I have had a full day in London today. I met my friends for lunch, which was wonderful - delicious, exciting food (thank you Mr Ottolenghi) and pleasurable company. We have not seen each other in quite a while and it was wonderful to catch up. Sitting at the table next to us was Lucy Worsley, sporting her new OBE on her jacket. The queen was obviously very busy today handing out gongs as Gavin had a business lunch across the other end of town near Buckingham Palace and that restaurant was also full of today's recipients of OBE's and other awards from the queen.

After lunch I walked across to Covent Garden as there are a cluster of outdoor stores there, and I was meeting Gavin there as I wanted to buy him a pair of technically adequate hiking trousers for Christmas - we went to three different stores and then also walked all the way up to Tottenham Court Road to another store but we did manage to find some suitable trousers. That was enough shopping for me, the crowds of people on the pavements was awful so it was difficult to walk past, and my feet were getting sore as I walked about 10km today in not-walking-shoes. Back to online shopping for me now!

Somewhere along the way I stopped off at Regent Street to get a photo of the Christmas lights which were switched on yesterday. 

We are now home again and I am going to relax on the sofa watching TV. Adam is arriving home later tonight - he has a power lifting competition in Kent on Sunday so coming home as it is almost en route. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.