Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Autumn colours at Black Pond

It was a busy morning at home again, as it always seems to be. I had two fire alarm engineers in the house sorting out the alarm and two garden contractors dumping, spreading and flattening top soil in the garden, hopefully ready to  lay turf again next week, and as I was so busy making tea for all of them and then taking Murdoch out for a walk, I forgot my dentist appointment! I finally got there half an hour late and he managed to squeeze me in but as it is a first time appointment at a new dentist it was going to be a long appointment, and so I have to go back next week to finish off the session. It's just been one of those days!

I did manage to get some photos of Black Pond with the autumn colours around it, it was looking lovely and calm until someone arrived and threw their ball across the pond for their Labrador to fetch, totally disregarding me taking photos. 

Tomorrow it is already Friday  - it has been such a busy week for Gavin, I have hardly seen him this week. Its an extremely busy time at work for him yet we are going see his mother in South Africa next week. She has been very ill and although she seems stable now, Gavin felt he needs to see her while she is in a stable condition. Its another of those ridiculous 2 day trips with long flights, but he cannot afford any more time off.

I usually go see the Taylor Wessing Portrait exhibition every year, and I am going to see it in a few weeks time - I go because there are usually one or two images that are of such a high standard, they are something special that lingers in my memory long after the event. For me its never the winner, and I can say the same again about this year's winner. What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.