Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A beautiful day for rugby

It was lovely to wake up this morning and know that Adam was at home - he arrived at about 1.30am (he left Cambridge rather late) and so we did not see him last night. 

Adam wanted to be on a liquid diet today as he has a 'weigh in ' tomorrow morning before his power lifting competition, and it is advantageous to be as light as possible for his weight category. So I made some butternut soup for him this morning - my children grew up on butternut soup, it has always been their favourite soup from when they were quite little. I then also cooked a huge pot of chilli so he can take some with him to eat after his lifts tomorrow.

It was a beautiful day today, sunny and bright but quite cold. Perfect weather for watching rugby! Thomas was delighted as today the 2nd team got to play on the hallowed 1st team pitch (as they were at an away match). The 2nd team have not lost a match this season, and today they won by 34-5, despite playing against the 1st team from their opposition school. I was struck by the beautiful golden light today, and the way the autumn leaves looked on the trees around the pitch, so rather than choosing an action shot for my blip I have chosen this one as I liked the golden light. I got quite sad realising that he only has 2 more rugby matches this season, so that will be the end of years and years of taking rugby photos for me.

A quiet night in tonight - Adam is leaving very early to get to Dover for his national competition tomorrow, and Thomas has orchestra practice tomorrow at school from 2pm so it will be a quiet day at home for Gavin and I tomorrow. Luke is having a lovely weekend in Edinburgh - everyone is busy this weekend it seems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.