Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Colorful jumper

Cosmophasis - there is another level of identification, unfortunately all the reliable, scientific sources do not show images, just lists - how stupid is that! Taking identification beyond this level using Google images or Flickr is just not reliable, besides which I did not find a single image the same as mine that took the ID any further.

Today's safari was a bit of a disaster, especially after yesterday, when I was able to nail every subject that I shot. Today I just couldn't seem to hold the camera steady, despite using the monopod. Editing brought tears to my eyes as shot after shot went into the round hole, leaving me with only four half decent images, which would normally have not got past the editing process.

At the end of every safari, I have a power down procedure which guarantees that the camera will be set for the next day. I check the EVA is set to zero, ISO 400, shutter priority speed set to 200, aperture priority set to F8. I then switch off the camera. Next the lens, make sure the distance selector is set to macro, the auto focus is switched off and switch off the vibration reduction (VR) - aarghh! And there lay the problem - I hadn't switched the VR on at the beginning of the session.

Anyone who thinks that the VR is just a gimmick, a sales ploy to get you to part with an extra couple of hundred dollars, well you are wrong. For me at least, the 105 macro is useless without VR. Anyone thinking of buying a 105 for macro work without VR, should take your camera body to the shop, load up the lens and shoot a load of macro. Go home and process and only buy if you are happy. Load up a VR lens and shoot some more for a direct comparison. Just a friendly eyes up.

The most impressive feature of a jumping spider - Salticid - is the eyes, I actually blipped the eyes of this particular species on 22nd October. So today I wanted to show you the rest of this very impressive arachnid. With its splendid array of metallic colors, it would not be out of place on top of a Christmas tree, except the spider is so small that it would sit comfortably on the tip of your little finger.

Update on yesterday's ink cap shroom - could not find it today, possibly one of the night critters had it for a snack, such a pity. I will be looking out for more fungi, always an interesting subject.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.