Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

I can do that – NOT

This is an olde world community, a world of hide and seek, hopscotch, kite flying, skipping ropes and all the other school yard games that were played fifty years ago and not a single battery in sight. Does the lack of technology hold these kids back or detract from their enjoyment, well judging from the high pitched screams of delight all day long, as they rush around the neighborhood, I would say not.

I see the kids playing this game quite often. It involves a rope constructed of hundreds of elastic bands. The competitor jumps and spins, catching the top of the rope with the foot, pulling the rope down and spinning over the rope to the other side for a successful clearance. As you can see from this image, a considerable amount of athleticism and skill is required. All the girls are quite adept at this game, but this young lass is the master.

The game was of particular interest to me, as in my school days, I was the school champion at high jump. I was permitted access to the pit when all the rest had to do thecross country run. I wasn’t good enough to compete at county level, but I could clear eyeball height. I continually amazed myself, standing next to the bar and thinking ‘impossible’. Those were the days.

DAve

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.