Thymus

A very grey, damp and muggy day. Low cloud and no sign of the sun. The weather must be reacting to yesterday's Brexit news. It is bad enough that we are leaving the European Union but the thought that Boris or that atrocious Rees-mogg could reign supreme if May is ousted is an unbearable nightmare.

Spent the morning outside in the wet garden and slightly muddy chicken field after the hair stylist had departed. My new hairstyle was rapidly ruined by the weather. My lifestyle does not lend itself to beauty pampering or perfect nails.

I was amazed to see that the thymes we had planted in early summer in an old butler sink were looking healthy and one is about to flower . I must cut them and preserve them for winter before the predicted frosts.

There is still a lot of colour outside and my extra shows some of the flowering plants plus the flowering broccoli which is ready to harvest.

I continue to eat a few semi ripe figs from the fig tree but I don't think I shall be doing that for much longer. Although there are countless figs on the branches they are quite small and won't ripen in this weather. The raspberries continue to ripen and they are quite bitter but very edible .

That's enough of the gardening report. I thought I was going to be Ian's chauffeur this evening, which meant collecting him at about midnight. There is nothing more unpleasant than going out on our dark, foggy lanes. Plans are now changed so I think it's an evening of TV and Children in Need. If only successive governments would fund necessary organisations instead of them having to rely on charitable donations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.