Desperately seeking

By clickychick

A Star Is (nearly) Born

My penultimate day at The Wood Workshop. The frames are coming on well so, with time to let my hand recover from sanding machine vibrations, I thought I'd make a star to feature in another blip this week. 

I needed a small star which would be free-standing. I'm sure the garden centre will have one of those brown paper ones along with the numbers and letters but I can't risk not getting one before Friday so I'll make my own.

Ignore the crenulations, they are from someones practice at dove-tailing! I scribed my circle, then couldn't think how to divide the circumference by 5. 360/5 = 72. Ah! Mark out every 70°. I hadn't a protractor and never thought of asking The Mate if the workshop had one. Instead, I went on-line and found a YouTube video showing me how to make out a pentagon with dividers. 

That worked! An oak star is on its way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.