#shockthedock

I mentioned the graffiti wall in yesterday's blip. What I hadn't realised is that this is now a proper second iteration of the wall, in the sense that the original #rockthedock paintings at the end of August/beginning of September were erased with purple paint for a Halloween/Samhain themed #shockthedock event, which took place on the last weekend of October, with some developments since. This is by Shona Hardie. I'm sure it's my ignorance that I've thought of the street art scene as being wholly male, or at least very male dominated, but looking more closely that doesn't seem to be the case. In the absence of many extras, I've put all of my graffiti photographs in a series of linked tweets.

It took all my efforts to get Mr A down there, as he was sceptical that Edinburgh could do something like a graffiti wall properly. But he was impressed, even though he initially complained about taking a 100m detour from our wander along the Edinburgh paths in order to see it. I assured him that Mr FT had already assured me that it was the "real deal". And indeed it is. I've ascertained that the Marine Parade Wall has its own instagram account (so hopefully we'll get to hear about future paintathons and can go down and see them in action).

You'll be pleased to hear that Mr A was subsequently consoled in a big way for the extra detour by a Breakfast Sandwich at Cafe Milk. Who knew that the way to a man's heart, etc. etc.? Who knew, indeed?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.