Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What was that?

As you can see, we still have a blanket of snow on the ground, even though temps are above freezing.  And since I returned from Costa Rica, I can't seem to get warm ... is it any wonder?  

I decided to spend a few minutes in the yard and was rewarded with a group of blue jays who were demanding peanuts.  This one was hopping through the snow towards some peanuts I'd laid out.  I loved the way he looked against the white background and the way his crest was fully raised.  Just made me laugh.  Which made for an easy blip choice.  And it also meant that I could come in and warm up.

We've got two big fat squirrels coming to the feeders - bold things.  And today there was one brave chippie running across the snow from the woods to hoover up seeds under the feeders.  Unusual to see them out in the snow, but maybe this one didn't think he had enough in his larder.

I think I still have around 2000 photos to go through from the trip.  I've spent about 4 hours today editing and tagging, making sure I've got identifications for everything.  Once I have all the birds identified, I will put them in an album on Flickr.  Lots of work, but so much fun reliving all the wonderful things we saw!

Happy Saturday from me and the critters on the Lane.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.