Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Red Squirrel

Being out all week I hadn't seen any squirrels however I got home from shopping to find The Man with his camera pointing across the garden. I waited while he got his shots then I went out into the garden.

I always hope for something different in my red squirrel shots. Whilst this looks much the same as all my others, it isn't! What I always do is wait until the squirrel runs off with its hazelnut to plant in the neighbours garden, then I go out and sit down waiting for its return. Today it can't have gone far because it beat me. As I was walking round to the front of the house I could see through the bushes that it was already sitting on the feeder.

I paused, but then I decided I'd come so far I may as well walk a few yards more to the chair and see if I could get away with intruding like this. It stayed and watched me. I quietly sat down and saw it was still there motionless. I gently raised the camera and managed to get a lot of shots.

Finally he realised I was no threat and took his eyes off me to groom himself then turned his back on me to get a nut from the box. Success! This is the first time a squirrel has stayed with someone walking through the garden. My seat is about 12' from the feeder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.