The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

O little hill of Butterow

This is the view from CleanSteve's study, taken through glass. I have been wondering why my neck is hurting: at first I thought it was a strain caused by shifting a ladder, but now I am wondering if it's photographer's neck.

More trouble at work: this time something has happened which is indirectly my fault, so there may be ramifications. Despite my best efforts to provide good play opportunities, things seem to go wrong. However, I managed to run a music session today for a class I had not met before, so that was something. Friends who know me will agree that I am not musically gifted...

Butterow is the hamlet opposite our house, nestling into the slopes of Rodborough Hill. It got its name from the old archery butts ( trees used for archery practice) rather than anything to do with butter. Butterow is the beginning of the countryside and the open 'commons' atop the huill; go the other way and you'll be in the leafy avenues of Rodborough, which has a splendid pub, and from there it's downhill all the way to the A46 and the town centre.

I rather fancied living in Rodborough when we were house hunting, but that may have been to do with having ideas above my station, to use a quaint old expression. CleanSteve was quick to point out that some of the houses get very little light at all, and that a Victorian terraced house is going to need more maintenance than, say, a 1930s house. So we ended up in the 1936 house on the sunny side of town. No complaints: I am happy here, and many would kill for the view we have.

Something so odd happened yesterday: when I went into a shop to buy a fleece, the shop assistant, who did not know me, suddenly said, "I've just had my lunch, I wonder if I can keep it down". Turned out she was pregnant, and thought a Subway would be a good anti-emetic. So many things I don't need to know...and I thought it an odd choice myself!

The painted look of this picture is caused by the 'dream' effect in Photogene, if you're interested. Happy Thursday evening, folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.