How Cool is That?

A right proper Wendy House, but I bet the Dad on this property didn't build it. Whatton in the Vale looks like an upmarket destination for the high net worth individual in Nottinghamshire.

I was there for the RPS Distinction Advisory Day on Applied and Travel. I should have put a panel in but my computer has been out of reliable usage for at least a couple of weeks (still not perfect) and I lost access to Lightroom at one point, so no printing.

Will Cheung was one of the two advisors, the other being Stewart Wall. I felt less inspired by the advice as the day went on but some good and valid points were made.

One of the panels had been submitted for a preliminary advisory and come back with a feedback form of comments which showed that the assessor had not properly read and understood the photographer's statement of intent. And that, gentle reader, is why those applying for distinction often fail. I feel that I've been the victim of that on one occasion, and there's no redress. You're not allowed to argue the toss.

Given that you're being assessed on the visual impact of your photography rather than your writing, how are you supposed to relate the two? Words can have a variety of meaning.

Nipped out at lunchtime for fifteen minutes when I saw this wonderful playhouse, but no kids in the neighbourhood. Extra is of a beautifully backlit leaf in the roadside verge.

Foggy as I drove to the meeting. Bright sunshine as I came away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.