Keep your eyes peeled...

Over the weekend, two friends separately offered me 50ps they had been keeping for me, just in case they are ones I am missing from my collections. I had actually already got the ones they brought this weekend, but I’m really grateful that people think of me when they are sifting through their loose change!!! So I thought I’d give a little update on some of the latest 50ps issued. The album on the right are the 2017 Beatrix Potter collection. The mintage is so high, they are freely available and both Henry and I have full albums. The album on the left are the new 2018 Beatrix Potter collection. Yet another Peter Rabbit, The Tailor of Gloucester, Flopsy Bunny and Mrs Tittlemouse. Even though these coins will have 2018 date on them, they have not been released into general circulation yet. When they are, it will be a while before we will know the mintage numbers. There have also been 2 different Paddington Bear 50ps issued this year with a 2018 date. Again, these are also not in general circulation, but when they are along with everyone in the country, I want one (or 2 as Henry collects too!) They will be very popular. But quite possibly could have a huge mintage, so there might be enough for everyone!!

Back to today, I stayed at Karen’s last night. They are always so hospitable, and I’m lucky to have no worries about staying over when visiting my Cambridge friends. At 9.30 I drove to Hoddesdon and spent about 4 hours with mum and dad. We had dinner, I dug up some autumn fruiting raspberry canes, and I left for home at 2.30 getting in just after 5. Not a bad run, but the roads were still busy. It was only dark for the last half an hour of my drive. I’m a bit worried about Dan as he has spent today in Cambridge and is driving back in the dark tonight. Hopefully he is taking it slowly!

Now I’m catching up on Strictly. I’ve been told Wandlebury is on Countryfile, but Jon is adamant he doesn’t want to see it. It’s going to be a long time, if ever, that we can think of the place without anger and upset. I might watch it back on iPlayer when he isn’t about.

I need a hot bath. My back is hurting a lot today. I’m falling apart! Hopefully the bath will ease it. After a packed weekend just gone, I’ve a 3 day week ahead, then Daniel’s graduation next weekend. The excitement is never ending!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.