Plus ça change...

By SooB

First frost day

Earlier than last year, later than it has been.

Crazy day.

Really not well this morning - dizzy, nauseous; but no duvet day possible today though - as it ended up - I didn’t get much work done.

The plan was to drop Mr B off for the train, with crossed fingers that a taxi would be able to get him out to the airport, or he would be able to figure out the various metro / tram / bus possibilities. Then home for a quick nap and an afternoon at the coal face.

However, the train websites that I checked all gave me the wrong revised timetable and the train he wanted didn’t exist (the waiting room was full of despondent folk complaining into mobiles). We are made of sterner stuff (well, Mr B is - I was distinctly not capable of much this morning) and jumped in the car to try some blockade evasion. Thanks to all the internet sources, we found a route that wasn’t too bad.

Home then to commence the car-fixing battle. Several quotes and dropped jaws later (rear windows are mad expensive, turns out) and my original plan to just pay for the repair and get the perpetrator to do a few hours of garden work instead was out of the (broken) window. So into the insurance maze. Our company won’t talk to me even though I’m a named driver, so I have to try and haul Mr B out of various meetings to call them and authorise me to speak. So 18th century.  The temptation on these occasions to call back in a deep voice “Hello Mr B here” is very strong.

So that is all pushed back another day.

While at garage one, the garagiste listened to the noise in the car and didn’t have a clue what is was - but he didn’t think it was dangerous...

The second garage gave me lots of numbers to digest on a possible new car (March/April) or second-hand car (3 weeks). Also a marginally lower quote for the rear window.  (All delivery times subject to gilets jaunes action...)

In case it might appear that I disapprove of the protests here, I don’t.  I am delighted to live in a country where demonstrations are allowed. The fairly minor inconveniences are nothing against that.  (Ask me about this again when the petrol pumps all run dry...)

Of course the main thing that has come out of this pointless day is that I’m off now to look for a Hitchcock box set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.