Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fox

With the snowfall several days ago, the first Fox Sparrows of the season showed up in the yard.  Usually these large sparrows are shy, staying in thickets and away from human habitation.  In fact, the only time I see them is 1) when we have a heavy snow, and 2) during migration.  They breed throughout Canada and Alaska and down as far as the northwestern States.  We are right on the border of the wintering grounds and migration route, so it's hit or miss seeing them.  Looks like it may be a good year for these robust birds, though - let's hope.

Believe it or not, I only have one day of Costa Rica photos to look at!  I found a missing SD card yesterday so that slowed me down a little.  But I've not got everything loaded onto an external drive and will start backing up to Amazon and probably Flickr tomorrow.  I still have some sorting and editing to do and several species that still need to be identified.  

I posted an interesting shot of a tarantula just coming out of its burrow on Flickr - click HERE if you aren't too afraid of spiders.  All you can see of it are it's legs, so it's really not that scary.  Frankly, the poor thing was probably terrified when she came out of her tunnel to be greeted with 8 cameras aimed at her!

Braved the grocery store this morning to pick up supplies for Thanksgiving.  Just four of us, so keeping it simple.  

Tomorrow morning I'm off to the doc for my annual "women's wellness" exam, then to the nursing home for a care-meeting with the staff there for MIL.  Very gloomy weather for the next few days and then bitter cold on Thanksgiving.  Yuck.

Cheers!
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.