Desperately seeking

By clickychick

The Advent Of Advent With Books

Well, here it is! Not as good as I thought it would turn out . A conifer should be wide at the bottom and narrow at the top but there is a limit as to how small a child's book can be and how big. I wanted to put a 1" spacer between each of the 24 books so that the tree was about 3' tall BUT I forgot that most of the books were floppy paperbacks AND the stack was very wobbly! It would have needed very wide spacers. I got round this by using more spacers per layer and 3 books to each layer.

Anyhow, it's a book a day for advent for The Grandchildren instead of windows with chocolates. Each book is gift-wrapped in green paper. How difficult was that to find? Each book is a short story to be read by them or to them that day. Some books were bought new but most were from charity shops.

A book a day for Advent wasn't my idea but it was presented to me as a pile of books. I developed the idea into a Christmassy tree with white tinsel for snow, though I think green tinsel to look like conifer needles may have worked better. Maybe.

The wooden star is the one I was making last week on the course, a good job I made one as the craft shop had nothing suitable.

There was snow on the Pennines this morning, as I drove to The Wood Workshop to do another little job so I thought I'd add a bit of it to my blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.