Just in time.

I doubt many will remember this particular tree.
Unfortunately, I was WAY too close (but at a similar angle) for a sensible comparison. NOT much change in 2yrs?
Obviously I wondered why the death sentence? It became apparent why on my compulsory circumwanderation.
I'll never know whether it was Willy Wynd who took out the dead limb, or some clever dendrological being spotted it and took action. Perusal of the right hand pic. will show the state of it "before" the attack.
I've just had a close lookat one of the branch; I guesstimate it must be twixt 40-45 years since they "branched out". (Other extra.)
I wonder if they're leaving it as a feature, to await "sideshoots", or to fell later.

The "Sideshoot" concept (By whatever name) is not totally impossible, dependant upon genus etc.
I once saw a 2' diameter stump about 10" high with a complete ring of shoots poking up just inside the brak.

If felling is on the cards I hope I'm lucky enough to get a chance to ring-count.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.