Camera Trumps

I called in at Hyde Park early this morning on my way to meet the Arts Society chums who were going on a guided walk of war memorials in Westminster. More about that in a mo.

Before the meet up I was desperate for a coffee so wandering along Piccadilly I happened on a tiny little café next to a swanky hotel opposite Green Park. At first there was just me in there. After a few minutes a couple came in with him holding a Canon 5D with a monster long lens. I made an admiring comment and we started chatting. Turned out that he and his partner were on holiday from Denver, Colorado and loving London. I should think the camera took up all his baggage allowance. Anyway I had to admit that his camera was somewhat more fab than mine. 

Then two chaps came in and squeezed past us onto a pair of window stools. One of them joined in the chat and also admired our new American chum's kit. He was holding his own camera- a Fujifilm XT3. Very nice and very recent. But then he produced from his bag- a Leica Q. Wow , the winner. We bowed down and genuflected at the wondrous camera. He was a professional and showed me his portfolio on his phone. All taken with the Q. Such wonderful pictures. He extolled the virtues of the Leica and now I desparately want one. But ouch they are pricey.

Anyway, I got him to pose for me with the camera.

After this it was a rush back to Hyde Park Corner to meet the others. We were treated to a state coach drive past, the President of Nigeria I think, before carrying on to admire the various war memorials scattered about. An amazing collection which you normally just drive past. See extras for the proof. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.