Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Kiran

My tiny new friend just passed his "due date" but he was born 6 weeks ago.  His mom is one of my favorites of Becky's friends.  She had a high risk pregnancy and wasn't able to carry him to term.  He was 5 pounds at birth but lost a half pound in the first few days.  He was in the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit) for 18 days.  He was in an incubator with an IV, a feeding tube in his nose, and a breathing machine to help his underdeveloped lungs.  He responded very well to treatment and was eventually weaned off all the support and allowed to go home with instructions not to take him out or have any visitors until his due date.  So, after a long wait, Becky and I finally got to meet him today, even though he slept most of the time.  I'm happy to say that he's up to 8 pounds now and doing fine and I got to cuddle him while he napped in my arms. :-))  

I am grateful that advances in medicine saved this little guy's life!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.