biddy

By biddy

"Monday, Monday" to quote the Mamas and Papas.

The day started by being a little overcast, but eventually by mid-morning there were breaks in the clouds and the sun got a look in. It was such a welcome sight after a lot of gloomy overcast days recently.
I had some bulbs to plant, which task wasn't accomplished last week, as I was hors-de-combat so to speak.   
I love the smell of damp earth when it is turned over, and busied myself with the left over bulbs, which contained muscari, tulips, narcissi and crocuses.   
 I took a break to drink a cup of coffee sitting in the summerhouse. 
    The sun can be warm in there in the winter when it streams through the windows. It can also make me dozy! I grudgingly left my tranquil place to continue making holes with my trowel and dropping in the occupants, some of whom were already showing signs of shoots and roots. They are now in dark protected from the worst that winter may bring till they have pushed their way back up to the light.
 I have already planted others earlier this month. 
By lunchtime however, I began to lose energy and came indoors. 
      The days are growing shorter and by mid afternoon the light starts to fade. 
After lunch we went up to our local shops to buy some Christmas cards. There are various local charities there, like the Hospice and one supporting children with cancer. So our cards are usually purchased from them. I waited in one of the coffee shops after we had each had a drink, whilst hubby went up to the Post Office to get some forms and purchase some stamps for the cards. 
    It's a 15 minute walk from the shops to home. By the time we were back indoors it was going dark.
    I had done enough today. But each day is better than the previous one. That's good. 
We passed the bakers and I took a photo of part of the window display. There were Christmas tree biscuits and gingerbread snowmen amongst the other goodies. 
It looked delicious! 
But we carried on our way empty handed. Back home for tea.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.