Saving Auntie's Tree

Dear Diary,

I am still without power this morning but the generator is keeping me warm and the water running.  Yesterday's storm brought such heavy, wet snow that the trees were snapping left and right.  The only one I was concerned about was Auntie's Tree, right behind the house.  Its branches were bent to the ground.  I went out and did what I could with a broom, knocking off the snow and letting the branches spring back but I couldn't reach them all and I was worried.

As I filled the feeder and seed bowls the birds flocked in.  The heavier birds, like this mourning dove and the jays, jumped from branch to branch knocking off bits of snow and lightening the branches.  It seemed like they were doing their part to save Auntie's tree!  Soon, branches were popping up aided by a bit of wind.  This is her 18th year and I think she will make it.  I am so relieved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.