Strawhouse

By strawhouse

When you Only Take One Photo

Today didn't quite go according to plan!
My mum and I had planned to go to Cambridge for our pre-Christmas outing but she was feeling poorly and wasn't up to a full day so we decided to go to Milton Keynes instead and have an easier day.
First of all it was to Homesense for some Christmas goodies - decorations (a driftwoody Nativity and a Twelve Days of Christmas tree shaped ornament),  this year's addition to my Christmas Spode collection (a serving dish for the M&S potato dauphinoise!), some glass ornaments for Miss E (not my cup of tea but she'll like them!!) and a candle (that smells of Mr K's aftershave so if he drops dead I'll have a lovely reminder. As I said cheerfully to my mum who told me off for being morbid!!)
Then after all those exhausting hours in Homesense and all that exhausting shopping it was time to go next door to Marks and Spencers for lunch, a much needed cup of tea and our body weight in snacks and treats for Iceland. Chocolate covered marzipan anyone?
My mum was clearly going downhill fast - she's been having dizzy spells lately and pains in her arms and looked like death on a stick - so I decided was enough was enough, told her she couldn't get on a plane on Monday without seeing a doctor and drove to the walk-in centre at Milton Keynes hospital.
As we waited in the queue for reception my phone rang and it was Miss E's school to say she'd been sick and could I go and get her. 
FFS.
So my mum rang her doctors in Bicester to see could she come in this afternoon.
Couldn't get through, couldn't get through, couldn't get through and then they closed for lunch.
FFS.
So it was back to mine. Via Miss E's school to pick up a very sorry looking Miss E.
She went up to bed and my mum had a cup of tea before heading home and promising to go round to the doctors.
I spent the afternoon bemoaning the fact that I wasn't in Cambridge eating cake and then went to get Miss L for swimming.
My mum went to the doctors this afternoon and was declared fit to travel. Whoop whoop!!! She sounded so much better when I spoke to her.
This was the only photo I took today. It was to send to Mr K to show him that we can buy knives that we actually want/need individually for our new kitchen rather than a block full of knives we never use.
That's how exciting our text messages are!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.