Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Santa Rosa Creek ...

...after during the rain. It has been raining since Wednesday with small breaks and intermittent downpours. Heavy rain is predicted through Sunday. Roads are flooded and cities along rivers and creeks are on alert. With this in mind, we walked across the road to check on our own Santa Rosa Creek (which was my blip two days ago just as the rain started.) I stood in the same place on the bridge to take today's picture.

We're looking forward to entertaining our very first (non-family) guests , our realtor and her husband who live across the road right on the creek. They seem unconcerned about the turbulent water, but it makes us happy to be perched on top of our hill. I'm going to make a big pot of what we call "white" chili, made with chicken and white beans. We toyed with the idea of having a fire in the fireplace, but since there is no furniture in that room, it seemed silly. We did look at couches and chairs this morning, and got a card from the store for an interior designer who will come to our house and give us a free consultation. That doesn't seem silly.

I think I have located my raincoat in Dana's garage, but before I could go over there and claim it we received a bunch of documents which we need to sign regarding our Berkeley house. We're pretty sure we signed all of them before, but apparently we need to sign them all again. No wonder everybody hates paperwork. Nobody reads most of it, all they do is make sure every box is ticked (even if we left the box unticked because it applies to condominiums). There is a process called "Docusign" whereby one can sign electronically by email, by clicking on a box that says "sign here".

Why can one sign important documents this way when the Social Security Administration won't even let me change my address online? After listening to recorded messages for 10 minutes, the electronic lady informs me that I can't use the automated system but she will be "happy" to transfer me to an agent, whereupon another recording informs me that "all our agents are busy, please b*****off and don't bother us hang up and try again later."

There are just too many lawyers...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.