Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Potatoes

Well that was interesting to post the what-is-it blip yesterday - not only did I get responses from garlic to jello to water over rocks to apple sauce or at least something boiling on the stove, but some friends/relations who are not blippers also emailed in their guesses. My d-i-l was the first email with the correct answer, "boiling potatoes"! A couple blippers got it too. The boiling bubbles did look thick in the photo for some reason.
I'm not doing a dissertation on potatoes beyond saying I'm very fond of this tuber plant, that was domesticated in Peru (or NW Bolivia. )between 8000 and 5000 BCE where there are now literally 1000's of varieties. (I've seen estimates of 4000!) The Spanish explorers to the Incas territory brought it to Europe in the latter 16th century, but not many varieties so it had a hard time adapting, and was prone to some fungus-like disease resulting in the Great Irish Famine. Today China is the leading grower of this 4th most cultivated crop. (!) In present day Peru, we have eaten hot potatoes along the road served by Quechua women selling their crafts.
I thought these looked pretty in the dish I blipped marbles in once. These are some of the ones cooked last night, which went into one of my ol' standby quick dinners tonight - fry onions, potatoes and veggie italian sausage together. Swiss chard on the side.
(Last night they were plain, with butter. and broccoli and halibut cakes-grocery bought)
I'm VERY tired of cooking, so need EASY.

Saw the movie Lincoln today. Marvelous!!!! I wish some of our present day representatives would go see it and take heed. Some of the same shenanigans going on in the legislature, it seems to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.