Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The last coffee cart in Seattle

Eastlake #2
In between rain showers, here is the other end of the block on Eastlake from the photo I posted on thursday. The 14 Carrot Cafe is a friendly neighborhood eatery - the Hines Public Market sign is a leftover from when the building used to have a market in it (before I lived here) and Hines used to be a Seattle Coffee Company, whose shop was actually across the street to the south before that building was torn down for new condos. So it's appropriate I think for the coffee cart to linger here. Used to be one could find a cart and a barista every other block in this coffee drinking mecca. No longer. I guess there are more little coffee cafes and drive thrus. There are 3 other coffee shops (including a Starbuck's) within 1 block of this outdoor cart that gets rolled inside every afternoon til the next morning.. Another time I will try for a portrait of the barista with the purple hair, but here I wanted the whole scene. (The zoo tavern is another institution for later....)
Might have to look large "L" to see the details..

I have just finished one of those books so pleasurable to read that one doesn't want it to end. I wonder if any of the Portland blippers know Amanda Coplin, the young Portland author of The Orchardist. It was such a quiet book with such beautiful descriptions of the Okanagon country in Washington state very early 20th C. and the cast of character's connection to the land. And such spare, quiet, insightful descriptions of the people in this story about sordid violent past events and the influence on their lives. Rather haunting, actually. I loved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.