The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Setting up

Minchinhampton country market, near Stroud
Steve now has a photographic card stall here. I went along to help him. The event wasn't busy, because the storm that had been forecast for Wednesday arrived today, with some force! However, Steve did sell some cards and make some contacts.

I didn't get a good shot of Steve's stall, which was only half a table, but I took a random shot of the craft showcase table. The wood turner who made the farm you can see in this display was sited next to Steve. I also took a walking tour of the village, which did not take long...

Afterwards, some friends and I went to a slightly bizarre event. I'd met the hostess three weeks ago and planned a lunch menu with her. She loves entertaining! When we got there she seemed weak and poorly, and apparently had got a case of food poisoning. One of our party knew this, but had assured the hostess that we could reheat the food ourselves since it was nearly all pre-cooked, and take orders from our hostess' bedroom. She thought our presence would be a welcome distraction from illness.

I wasn't sure about all of this. Being around a person with food poisoning and prepping food...
However, I made the starter as instructed, and help reheat and serve the rest of the courses, and we had some great chat, as well as food. The Christmas crackers even provided us with some games to play.

Afterwards, we took the bus back. It was dark by then. Jenn and I are going out to a poetry reading later. The storm has abated, but the venue couldn't be further from my home, being on the other side of Stroud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.