Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The river walk

We drove over to #2 son's home after lunch at a local restaurant to deliver the Christmas present we had gotten for them.   They have no coat closet close to the entrance so I found a hall tree/bench thing that works well with their decor (a mishmash of everything!).   So Brett gets the honor of pulling out his tools tomorrow to put it together.   While we were there, he was cooking.     He likes to make things in the crock pot so they can eat on it a couple times during the week.   Emily does not like to cook (or clean the kitchen) so the kitchen is Brett's domain.   And my boy can cook good food!    He gave me a little of the sauce he made for the meat which was  2 green bell peppers, 6 tomatoes, a purple onion, beer for liquid, 2 small cans of chipotle peppers.. all which he pureed in the blender.   He then seared his big chuck roast in the big frying pan until it was almost charred.  Then it went in the crockpot with the sauce and he will let it cook on low all night so that the meat will shred up.  They eat it on tortillas  or hamburger buns.    He calls it Bretts Bar B Que!     I tasted the sauce uncooked and it was a little spicy hot so I am hoping the cooking with tame it down some.    But I am going to try it out!

Today was really rainy and foggy.   I had Jerry to take some photos out the window of the car as we drove back home since I was driving (I really wanted to stop on the bridge!).   Luckily the other vehicles did not like how slow I was going and there was not much traffic so he got some decent shots for a non photographer.    This is one he took of the canal walk.   This area is miles from the area we walked on Thursday but it is all part of the river walk.     It was so gray I used some edits to get it to look a little different, maybe like an old photo.   

I think we are expecting warm temps tomorrow and thunderstorms!  I have a couple books that need to be read and that might be what I am doing tomorrow!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.