Dog Bone Pillow

Dana's words, 'save that for a rainy day' were echoing in my head this morning as I considered the possibilities for the day.  It was raining and cold, so going outside wasn't very appealing. What Dana was referring to was my dissatisfaction with our office which is the biggest room in the house and has become something of a receptacle for unwanted/ unloved or unused things. I don't spend much time in there. But the thought of reorganizing it is daunting, since it involves taking everything out and switching it around.

OilMan and I sat in there and discussed the possibilities. I doubt if we will ever disturb his side of the room, but on my side we have: craft stuff, wrapping stuff, knitting and sewing stuff and painting stuff in addition to books, computer, printer, and shelves full of random stuff I've picked up over the past six years. I distinctly remember packing up boxes of such stuff when we moved from Berkeley. I have no idea where they are now.

I commented that I didn't like the fact that the furniture was just lined up around the edges of the room. OilMan looked at me like I was crazy and said, 'they're DESKS!'
I haven't yet broached the idea that we replace one of the three desks with a sleeper sofa.

By the time I emptied half my shelves and pulled the iron, the ironing board, piles of books, paints, once carefully  color coded boxes of fabric, sewing machine, discarded pillows and more, the sun had come out and it was a brilliant day. Everything remains where it is, a mess, until it rains again. OilMan's approach is: take everything out and then figure out where to put it back. My approach is: figure out where everything is going to go and then rearrange it. As it is now, OilMan's space isn't compromised and mine is a disaster.

Ozzie was unconcerned....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.