A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Advent

Advent Sunday today and on my way to church I found members of the Gala Committee putting up the village Christmas Tree ready for this afternoon's 'Switch on'.

The Advent Crown was ready in church with the first candle being lit at the beginning of the service.

Not sure if I'm going up to the switch on, Chris is there as he's the one who throws the switch (the power coming from the church) but interestingly we've just had a power cut!
Hopefully all will go well.

Footnote: was a bit late to bed last night and I heard a low bark soon after. I heard it again so switched off the light to look out of the window and there was a magnificent fox in the middle of the front lawn. They used to be regular vistors creating a ' run' through the back garden and triggering the security light, so much so that the children used to shout 'fox alert' when it went off. Haven't seen one for some time and I put that down to the frequent visit of badgers. Great to see.

Stop Press village tree switch on cancelled - no power!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.