Hospital vigil

Act 2 of the Beckettian drama that is my current life was set within the confines of Haltwhistle Memorial Hospital today. Here my mother, Mr hazelh and I took position in my father's room to watch and wait. He woke up a couple of times when we were there, but didn't really communicate with us much other than to say that he thought that his lungs were giving up.

While Mummy hazelh read the Sunday papers in an armchair next to the bed and Mr hazelh sat on a stool by the door to study number theory in Gödel, Escher and Bach, I worked on a journal article at the foot of the bed (as blipped).

We had a changing of the guard just after 5pm when my middle sister and her husband arrived. Mr hazelh, my brother-in-law and I went back to the house to tidy up the chaos caused by yesterday's shenanigans, make dinner, and set the dining room table. My mother and middle sister followed a couple of hours later.

We enjoyed soup, breaded pork escalopes, carrot souflée, and trifle in the dining room before tearily turning in for the night.

Mr hazelh and I will return to Edinburgh tomorrow. Our plan is to come back here next Sunday, but it could be sooner. We'll see what happens...

Exercise today: small amount of walking (7806 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.