Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Last Leaves Standing

Still been waking up really early.  Later I was standing in the kitchen about half an hour before sunrise when the most wonderful light developed in the sky.  As quickly as I could (I'm still a little restricted in movements), I grabbed the camera and tripod and headed for the nearest area of open ground.  Unfortunately, even as I was walking up the road the light was dissipating and by the time I reached the park it had actually started to rain.  What light was left was on the eastern horizon, but certainly not worthy of photographing.  Such are the vagaries of our weather.

It was on the way back that I noticed this silver birch was still holding on to some of its leaves.  I probably wouldn't have noticed save for the illumination from the street light next to it.  It really does show how dark it still was with the clouds behind.

In other news I was watching the UN Climate Change Conference in Katowice, Poland today.  In a much lauded change from the normal politicians speeches the #takeyourseat initiative asked Sir David Attenborough to address the delegates.  It took a bit of doing but I found the whole of his speech on You Tube. I hope it makes a difference but will always worry that the short termism of politicians will prevent decisions being made in our long term global interest.  

I doubt I will be around to see the more devastating impacts of our current lack of action on this issue, but I feel for future generations.  Even now it is difficult to watch some of the 'natural' disasters on the television news.  Whether it be hurricanes, floods or forest fires, it isn't restricted to developing countries, just ask our friends across the Blip world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.