a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Deuced Hat

Mono Monday: Deuced Hat

Leaving aside motorcycling and bicycle helmets, I've never been much of a hat wearer.  

I have a woolen beanie style hat I wear during the winter months out of necessity. It keeps that bit of a man's head behind his ears nice and warm.  Longer hair might be the answer to that one though ...

I also have a summer straw hat which does not look cool on me, but enables me to sit outside in the sun and read without burning my nose or ears - so its very much a necessary evil .  

But when all is said and done I'm not really a hat man.  I like the idea of the things, but loathe the sight of me in them :-). 

Yet I do own this number.  But there is a reason for that.  At one stage the band felt that everyone should have a hat.  I resisted for ages but in the end I complied and acquired this little number which is now part of my gigging outfit.  I do try to make sure I take it off as soon as I can during the set though ...   :-)

Many thanks to JohnEdward for setting us this little challenge for the first Monday in December.  I'm afraid that I've gone for a fairly literal interpretation of the challenge - although I couldn't resist the old fashioned slang usage of the word "Deuce".  I understand that there is a more modern slang usage for the word but we don't need to descend to those depths here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.