Hunger Hill

It's been lovely to be at home today after three nights away. It was cloudy first thing and rather cold up in my studio bedroom in the roof of this old stone terrace house, providing a good excuse to stay under the covers for an hour and read. That's a luxury I don't often permit myself! The cloud soon cleared, though, and that was the signal to get up and out of the house.

I was thinking about getting out on the bike but I wimped on that one because of the cold and frost. I think it was a wise decision because the roads, out of the sun, were treacherous with ice. I decided to go for a run, but chose the north side of the valley so to be in the sun as much as possible. Crossing the main road through Ilkley I saw Lizzie Armistead out on her bike, smiling as always. They breed them tough up here in Yorkshire. It's no surprise we had so many Olympic medallists.

My run was very leisurely, mainly because I was stopping so often to take pictures. Like yesterday, I was very much spoiled for choice. In the end I chose this shot as it was the least likely to be caught again, taken looking down over the town and across to Ilkley Moor from an area known as Hunger Hill. This isn't mist but very fine dust, from something that had just been emptied into a silo. The effect was nonetheless atmospheric.

PS I've been informed by eldest son that, in this country at least, the word "yolo" is not very cool. This has been corroborated by Ceridwen (the colour today is dedicated to you!), whose own son described it as a bit "twattie". Perhaps I won't be introducing it into my vocabulary!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.