Austby

I've had to work today, after finding out last week that my prototype application needs to be demonstrated to a key group this coming Thursday. There are quite a few things that need to be connected up and some cosmetic touches to be made too. It's an important opportunity so I just have to get stuck in once again. After that the pressure will hopefully come off a little. Apologies once again for not being able to get around to thank everyone personally for the hearts and stars and comments of the last few days. I really appreciate your amazing on-going support. I guess you know by now how lovely I think you all are!

So, not much time to myself today but I did get out for a run, covering similar ground to yesterday. Although the air temperature could not have been above freezing I still headed out in my shorts, which seemed to attract quite a bit of interest - mainly in the form of raised eyebrows! It might have been different if there had been any kind of wind, but my legs never felt cold. My hands were a different proposition however. I could feel them freezing within seconds of removing my mitts to take a photograph. To some extent I think that problem is a symptom of being fit and having done so much running and cycling over the years. The body has become conditioned to send blood to the working muscles of the legs rather than the extremities of the fingers. The legs are prioritised. That's my theory anyway.

So ... another colour shot today. I don't think I'm habituated to posting in black and white. There are some blippers here who never ever post a shot in colour. I'm open to both and make a judgement on which, to my eye, looks the best. I find these days that most subjects seem to work better in mono, but yesterday the colour version had more impact and the same applies today. We may not see a blue sky like this for a while so it would seem a shame not to make the most of it!

Thanks for your thoughts on this new word "yolo". It will be interesting to see if its use evolves and becomes more mainstream. Letgo might have the right idea, suggesting that the young will think it's twattie because they think they're going to live for ever. It's only when you have a bit of life experience that yolo become a sensible word to use. Veronica offers Carpe Diem as an alternative, although that's had so long to enter popular language that perhaps there's a good reason why it hasn't. I do like the sound of "yolo" though, so perhaps it just needs to be used more and rescued from the cultural ghetto in which it currently seems to reside. I'm very fascinated by the evolution of language and the emergence of new words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.