earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Freedom to Be

Feel the Freedom!

First, many thanks for all the hearts and stars for yesterday's blip - that has now been titled Serendipity, from a suggestion by MinBannister (I'm new to her journal and have become an instant fan. Yesterday's Treeface was amazing, as are so many of her oddities - and you'll get what I mean if you pay her a visit). Mine was a indeed a very serendipitous blip and the name felt just right. I thought I must have used it already but it turned out that I hadn't. Earlier in the year, before blipping somewhat curtailed my more traditional blogging, I did actually put up a post called Serendipity and Synchronicity. If anyone is interested in a read I'd love some feedback!

So, I duly went for a run with Forrest last night. We set off at what seemed like a reasonable pace but it turned out to be a quicker start than he is used to, and that was his nemesis! A third of the way around our two mile circuit he started to flag a bit and I checked my pace (even, truth be known, stopping for a quick chat with a mate of mine who we bumped into!), but I know from experience that no matter how dead he appears to be on his legs he can always outsprint me in the last quarter of mile. Entering the last third of the distance I started to wind the pace up. He dug in for a while but could hack it for only so long. He's going to have to train a bit harder yet. But he certainly enjoyed himself and I think he is relishing the challenge. I can honestly say that I am really looking forward to the day when he can turn the tables on me over a run of a couple of miles like this. It shouldn't take him too long if he sticks at it. I was also pleasantly surprised at the turn of speed I was able to produce. My blip runs on the moor are serving to get me fitter than I had realised.

I did feel a little bit of tiredness in the legs on the moor this morning, but that soon disappeared once I got up high. I think this picture, better than any other perhaps, shows just why I like to run up here. It's the sense of space, the sheer expansiveness of it all. It's extremely unusual for this kind of landscape to be so accessible. That I can be running up here before going into work is the greatest joy. I'm very lucky.

About to feed my boys with a veggie curry before a bit of a catch up here later. Hope you all a good end to the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.