In Which We Become Seekers of the Sun

There are things I do not enjoy about the drawing down of the light. Hardly ever getting to see my own house in daylight on days that I work is one of those things. But on the other hand, I do enjoy watching the sunset on my drive home each day.

The angle of the late-day sun is such that the shining orb fits neatly inside the little white gazebo at Gray's Cemetery at that time of day. It is a thing I stop to photograph every year at this time. I guess you could say I am a creature of habit. But I love all of these things anew, every single time.

The shadows are quite long now, just about the longest of the year. The days are short, though. And here's an encouraging thought: the day itself will only get a few minutes shorter before the solstice, when we round the bend and start our journey back into the light.

The soundtrack is one for all of the sun seekers, including myself. :-) The Doors, with Waiting for the Sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.