The Christmas Tree Inside Old Main

There are special things that I love to see and do on campus around the holidays. Things like shopping at the fancy little museum shop inside the Palmer Museum. And visiting the gingerbread replica of the Nittany Lion Inn. And stopping by to see the pretty blue and white Christmas tree inside Old Main.

I was trekking down through campus on my way to a meeting downtown, when I realized I had five or ten minutes to spare. So I ducked inside Old Main, and it was toasty as always. I doffed my coat and dropped my bags and snapped a few photos.

To the right is the holiday tree. In the middle, up the stairs, you may view our famous Land Grant frescoes, painted by Henry Varnum Poor in the 1940s, and restored to their prior glory in 2015. You can't see this detail from here, but there stand President Abraham Lincoln and a young student; together, they are planting a tree, an activity which warms the very cockles of my heart!

Let's let the soundtrack song be a Christmas one. Here's a favorite: Snoopy's Christmas, by the Royal Guardsmen.

P.S. This day also featured a stop at Chopstick Express for a quick snack. In the extras is the photo I took when - as I was snarfing down my egg rolls - I realized that the backs of the chairs formed perfect circles in the reflections they made on the tables.   ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.