A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Mislabelled?

We decided get last-minute tickets for the theatre tonight (which proved more problematic than it usually does, but that's technology for you).

The play was The Nightingales.  It was very good.  Indeed, I would probably have described it as excellent had my expectations not been set up to anticipate a comedy.  

Yes, there were a lot of moments of laughter in the audience, but there was also a very dark side to the whole thing (and not dark in the sense of black comedy).  

For something billed as a "comedy" I'm expecting end-to-end light entertainment. I'm not expecting to find myself wondering if I'm supposed to be laughing at the fraud, infidelity, mental illness and a touch of racism being (well) acted in front of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.